Muffins!

This is perhaps one of my favorite recipes ever. Except I use whole wheat flour and that, combined with my oven (I’m guessing), usually results in a loaf of bread that takes 10,000 hours to cook and is still gooey in the middle. In other words…it’s been kind of a hit and miss thing lately.

This morning I woke up to a grey, slightly foggy sky, and I decided that it was the perfect morning for muffins. Preferably something that involved those over-ripe bananas and well, if I could sneak in some chocolate, life would be even better. So I drug out The Recipe to see if it was doable.

It wasn’t. I had no buttermilk. I didn’t even have a lemon or vinegar to cheat my way to buttermilk. So after perusing some other recipes, I thought that maybe I could get away with tossing in some sour cream instead of the buttermilk.

Turns out, that totally works. Or maybe I was just so happy to be eating chocolate for breakfast that I didn’t care. Still. These are now my new favorite muffins. They are slightly dense (thank you whole wheat flour), slightly crunchy (thank you turbinado sugar), moist (thank you bananas, and also most likely, sour cream), and sweet (ahem, chocolate chips). Also, the browned butter and molasses give a certain depth of flavor that means this just isn’t any old ordinary banana muffin.

In a big bowl, whisk together:

  • 2 c flour (I used white whole wheat)
  • 3/4 c sugar (I used the crunchy turbinado stuff, ’cause I’m weird like that)
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg

In another bowl that doesn’t need to be quite as big, whisk together:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/4 c sour cream (or buttermilk)
  • 3 medium sized mashed bananas
  • 2 T molasses (okay it’s supposed to be 2 t, but I misread that once and have always used 2 T, which totally works for me, because I kinda like molasses in my muffins…so do what you will, or skip it if you’re not a molasses person)
  • 6 ounces browned butter (supposedly cooled, but I can never wait that long)

Fold the wet ingredients into the dry. Add about a cup of chocolate chips if you’re in the mood. Bake at 350 degrees until done (don’t ask me how long…it totally depends on the size of the muffins and the mood of your oven).

So they (whoever they are) say that baking is less forgiving than cooking, and that when you bake you need to pay careful attention to measuring and all that crap. But. I am, at heart, a lazy baker. I measure (mostly), but I also eyeball (things like molasses especially, because getting molasses out of a tablespoon is a pain in the ass). These muffins are proof that you can be a successful lazy baker…I think it’s a very forgiving recipe. But maybe that’s also because I don’t like dainty, airy, light as a feather muffins. I like my muffins to be hearty, because I am hungry in the morning, and I want something that will fill me up (and okay, I have a sweet tooth, so I want something sweet, too).

IMG_2017

And now that Ive filled my belly and finished raving about muffins, I’m going to go put together a post on the Pet Sematary readalong. Really.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Muffins!

  1. I can’t remember the last time I had a muffin. Those look great!

    Like

  2. Ti

    If I made these with gluten free flour they would be doorstops so I will just drool over your photo.

    Like

  3. Beth F

    Yummy!!!!!

    Like

  4. I agree – I always smudge a bit on ingredients/quantities and my stuff usually turns out fine. On the other hand, I think I have a good eye for quantity (“yea, this LOOKs like about 1/3 cup”) Yay for muffins! (and I always want to challenge Ti on her gf statements but I gave away all my gf flours when I moved. I probably had about $50 worth of odd things just to play with the gluten free recipes.)

    Like

  5. Oh, yum! If I can ever get some overripe bananas in the house, I will definitely be making these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

