remnants of January and February

There are two books that I read in January (the last two) that I never posted about. Plus another one from February. So yeah, I’m writing this post just so I can say I’ve posted about every book I read this year (all two months of it). The thing is, the last two books of January were ho-hum, so I really don’t have much to say. And that one book remaining from February was so chock full of info I don’t even know where to start. So here they are in order read:

I read Sinner because it was a sort-of sequel to Maggie Stiefvater’s The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy (which I loved). Sinner is more of an angsty afterthought to tie up the story of Cole and Isabel. It was Stiefvater, so it wasn’t that bad, but it wasn’t as good as Shiver/Linger/Forever, and it for sure wasn’t as good as The Raven Cycle books.

And then I read Across Many Mountains because my mom loved it and she wanted me to read it. I didn’t hate it, but I certainly didn’t love it. It is the story of Yangzom Braun’s family…her grandmother’s life as a Tibetan nun, the grandmother’s escape from Tibet with Yangzom’s mom and their lives in India and then Switzerland, and then Yangzom’s own life. Honestly, I could have done without the second and third generations. Once the story no longer focused on the grandmother I lost interest. In addition, the writing was a bit flat.

And then there was On the Map. I adored Simon Garfield’s Just My Type, which is how I ended up with this book (plus, I love maps (I have a degree in Social Sciences along with my History degree, so Geography made up a good chunk of my college coursework…and it was the favorite chunk)). On the Map is all about…wait for it…MAPS! YAY!!! If you are a map nerd, you should read this. If you aren’t, well, you’d probably be bored. The only bummer was the pictures weren’t in color. Boo. Maps can be so pretty, but the maps in this book were especially ho-hum. Except for the variation on the Tube map that was inside the front and back covers. That was in color and it was awesome (maps and the Tube…it’s a win/win (ack, Covey reference…sorry, sorry, sorry!)!).

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “remnants of January and February

  1. It sounds like I need to look for Just My Type or On the Map.

    Like

  2. I just had to go check which Simon Garfield book it was that I’ve read (It was Mauve) and then I see he wrote a book about letter writing! Now I want to read ALL of his books!!

    Like

  3. On the Map is sitting there on my bookshelf staring at me as I type this. I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to it earlier – I love maps!

    Like

  4. I’m scared to try those werewolf books. I love the Raven Cycle but couldn’t make it through Scorpio Races (it wasn’t BAD, just a bit boring for me…), so I don’t want to get a bad impression about Stiefvater in general. That’s silly, and I’ll get over it one day, but there you go.

    Like

  5. Beth F

    Wasn’t On the Map great? I just noticed that I don’t think I ever wrote about it on my blog. Ooops. And maybe I’ll just skip that sequel to the wolf books … I would rather not have a meh feeling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

