Ahoy!

I confess, I bought this book because of the blurb on the cover.

piratesOkay, it’s a bit hard to read, but basically it involves the word strange uttered by Neil Gaiman. Sold!

And it was strange. Also disturbing. Mostly because the pirates are teenagers (okay, three teens, one adult, and one adult with Alzheimer’s), and they really do act like pirates. In other words, they don’t just jump around the deck shouting “Ahoy!” There is murder and mayhem. Not much, but enough that I wasn’t pleased by the ending. There is also a radio producer with shady morals. This is the Needle family, and our two main characters…father Phil the radio dude and his daughter Gwen, a picked-upon teen and budding pirate. I kinda liked them at the beginning of the book. I didn’t like them at all by the end.

Daniel Handler is the Lemony Snicket guy. I’ve never read any of the Lemony books, though, so I can’t say if this is normal for him, or strange, or stranger than his normal strange. Whatever it was…I’m over it and him.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Ahoy!

  1. Now I feel much better for having missed the expiration date on my e-galley and therefore couldn’t read it. Thanks for that! (Granted, does this mean that if Neil Gaiman says a book is strange that it is probably too weird for everyone else?)

    Like

  2. I’ve never read any of his books but have heard him speak and he’s hilarious! I’ll probably skip this book.

    Like

  3. Yea, I’ll skip it, too. You’ve done a public service. Or this little corner of the public. Not that I’m saying this corner is little. oh goodness. nevermind.

    Like

  4. I’d have picked it up too, with a Neil Gaiman blurb on the cover. Neil, you’re not supposed to steer us wrong! The last book I read because of a Neil Gaiman blurb on the cover was strange, but quirky strange in a weird way that was really enjoyable (Jonathan Carroll’s The Land of Laughs).

    Like

  5. You know if an author who writes strange things claims a book is strange, you’re in for a ride! Too bad the ride derailed along the way. Boo.

    Like

  6. Beth F

    But there are PIRATES! Still …. I might just pass this by

    Like

Leave a Reply

