Irma Voth

I do believe this is the fourth book by Miriam Toews that I’ve read (A Complicated Kindness, The Flying Troutmans, and A Boy of Good Breeding being the others, if my brain is remembering correctly, although I don’t really trust my brain). And the charm is beginning to wear off. Boo.

irma voth

It’s not that I didn’t like the book. Once again, we have a family of fucked-up Mennonites (seriously…Toews specializes in this genre). This time they’re in Mexico, mixing it up with narcotraficantes and film crews, and then running away to Mexico City where everything that could go wrong goes right.

And I think that was my problem with the book. I mean, I’m all for happy endings*, but almost nothing went wrong, when there were so many things that should have gone wrong. It was like reading a Stephen King novel and waiting and waiting and waiting for the creep…only to find no creep. Still, it had the aforementioned fucked-up Mennonites, so it wasn’t all that bad.

*And speaking of happy endings, my favorite feel-good author, Sarah Addison Allen, has a new book coming out this month. That had nothing to do with this post, but the thought of happy endings made me think of Allen’s books, and I wondered when her next book would be out, and thanks to Google, I now know it’s very soon. Hooray!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Irma Voth

  1. I’ve never heard of this author but am kind of fascinated by Mennonites so maybe I should try one of her books.

    Like

  2. Beth F

    I’ve never heard of this author either, but will keep my eye out.

    Like

  3. I’ve not read anything by Toews but I have heard of her.

    Like

  4. I’m not a big Toews fan, but everyone should read A Complicated Kindness. I’d also like to read her memoir…can’t remember the title…

    Like

  5. I actually have this one somewhere. I think I picked up a copy at a trade show.I can’t say that you are inspiring me to pick this one up to read, but I may get to it one of these decades.

    Like

  6. litandlife

    I have had The Flying Troutmans on my shelf for years and never have read any Toews. Perhaps its time to pull that sucker off and read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

