#BOBalong

Despite not really posting about it, except for a few random Instagram thoughts, I participated in Trish‘s #BOBalong last month.

bobalong

And when Trish asked me how I liked Bag of Bones, I said I’d rate it toward the bottom of the top 1/3 of my favorites for King’s books. And she said she’d be interested to see what my complete list looked like. So here it is…my loose ranking of the one’s I’ve read. (And yes, this is really my wrap-up post for the #BOBalong, because I’m a cheater like that.)

A few notes*: Under the Dome and 11/22/63 are by far my favorites. I want all other King books to be That Good. And the Dark Tower books are by far my least favorite. For more “traditional” King books, Carrie and Rose Madder are definitely my least favorites. But in between those high and lows, the list is more of a rough grouping. The Stand and IT are toward the top probably because of the readalong experiences, but also for the characters. The Shining and Revival are towards the bottom because they were big let-downs. Seriously Big Let-Downs. I really liked Mr. Mercedes and Joyland, but they weren’t as creepy as some of the others, so they could maybe be higher on the list, but aren’t. In fact, Bag of Bones, Mr. Mercedes, Insomnia, Joyland, and ‘Salem’s Lot were all good…they just don’t rate high on the love/hate scale. Bag of Bones edges into love territory simply because of Mike Noonan. Except he’s no Barbie. It’s gonna take a lot to top Barbie.

*Okay, so that was more than a few.

The List:

  • Under the Dome
  • 11/22/63
  • Doctor Sleep
  • The Stand
  • IT
  • Bag of Bones
  • Mr. Mercedes
  • Insomnia
  • ‘Salem’s Lot
  • Joyland
  • Revival
  • The Shining
  • Rose Madder
  • Carrie
  • The Dark Tower (book 1)
  • The Dark Tower (book 2 – abandoned)

There are still three King books that I really want to read (not that I plan to stop after that, it’s just I really want to see how these will fit into this list): Lisey’s Story, Pet Sematary, and The Tommyknockers.

What do you think of my list? Is there anything on there that made you gasp with horror when you saw where I placed it?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “#BOBalong

  1. Nope. I agree with all of your rankings. For me, those top three are interchangeable though. I really want to read/listen to Pet Sematary too. I think that is the last one of his I really want to read.

    Like

  2. I don’t think I’ve read as much of Uncle Stevie as you, or if I have it’s different. I’ll have to make my own list. Before you stop, DO read Misery! That’s the one that rekindled my ardor for his work. Lisey’s Story, if I were to make a list, would rest securely at the bottom.

    Like

    • Hah, I’m starting to think Lisey’s Story is a love it or hate it book, because I keep hearing both opinions on that one. And Misery…I saw the movie a few times and am suitable freaked out.

      Like

      • Lisey’s Story was memorable to me. I remember reading it in a crowded camp room at my Aunt’s lake house in Maine; we were inside because it was pouring outside. We were all sitting around watching the Red Sox and/or reading. It was a fun companionable setting and I would GASP out loud when some crazy shit happened in Lisey’s Story and everyone would look at me and laugh. So, it could be me and no one else would enjoy that book. Who can say?

        Like

  3. I love your list! However, I would have put Doctor Sleep a little lower and Revival a little higher. 11/22/63 has definitely been my favorite thus far. I never read the Dark Tower Series and seeing where you placed it, I’m glad I didn’t! I liked Bag of Bones when I read it years ago (I think I was 20!) and it scared the ever living life outta me! Maybe I was just a young ‘un =) Have a good week!!

    Like

  4. Misery is on my next to read list, I’m thinking. Under the Dome didn’t do it for me like it did for you. I should do a ranking like this, was actually thinking about it! I would put Bag of Bones after Mr. Mercedes, I think and Carrrie was ok – not sure where that will rank. I really enjoyed Lisey’s Story. “IT” will probably always be my fave – a perfect trifecta: great story, fun readalong, fabulous narrator. Even if it did have some of the worst scenes, to be honest…

    Like

  5. Pingback: My List of King | Care's Online Book Club

  6. Bahahaha! And to think that I waited until I posted my Bag of Bones post to read this so that your thoughts wouldn’t influence mine…sounds like we both had about the same amount to say about the book (not much). I need to read more King because my list is pretty meager but here’s mine:

    11/22/63
    Under the Dome
    IT (agree, the readalong was fantastic…plus the audio…plus everything except the weirdo spider)
    The Stand
    Bag of Bones
    The Shining
    Dark Tower I (ok, to be fair I fell asleep so didn’t finish it, but Scott gave me the “meh” when he was done so when it was my turn to drive I put on Outlander instead…because Jamie).
    The Talisman

    Seems like I’m missing something. But 8 books is still more than I’ve read of ANY other author EVER. Maybe I’ll make Dr Sleep my next. When are you reading Pet Sematary?

    Like

  7. I’m always interested in lists like this because I’m always fascinated by different reading tastes. The Stand is my no 1 forever King book, I love it. I found Under the Dome to be a bit long, so would place it further down; same with 11/22/63. I loved It, and the #italong was a lot of fun. I’m in the “love Lisey’s Story” camp – my husband bought it for me a few months after my Dad died and I really identified with Lisey’s sense of grief – it was the perfect read at the perfect time for me. I’ve read the first three books in the Waste Land series and have Grand Plans this year to read the whole thing (we’ll see how that goes). I couldn’t finish Pet Semetary 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

