Now is the time when we dance (and read, of course)

Holy crap, what a week. Not a bad week, just a crazy busy weekend, followed by not enough time to recuperate, followed by a way too short work week with way too much to do.

Let’s go back to last weekend, when I got together with my besties from high school. Actually, I’ve known two of them since 6th grade. 6th grade! That’s way more years than any of us really wanted to acknowledge.

FullSizeRender

We don’t look a day over 22, right?!?!

 

For the past few years we’ve been trying to get together at least once a year. Three of us stayed sort of local, and two went off to the Bay Area. Two are (still) married, and everyone but me has kids. We all work full-time. So getting together presents some challenges, but we’re managing. This year we met here in SLO County and had a weekend slumber party at my friend Tina’s house. We talked, ate, slept a bit, talked, ate, hiked, ate, danced (boy howdy, did we dance), slept, talked, ate, ran and ate. We schemed (Tina and I will be running a 5K and 10K together next year) (and Ash, Steph and I will be doing this – I wisely called dibs on being Runner 1, who gets the shortest total distance), we planned more nights out dancing (OMG, I need to go to bed NOW in order to prepare), and we provided that support and love that can only come from friends of 30-something years.

It was a blast.

But good lord, that dancing business did me in. We danced our asses off for 4 hours to 80s cover tunes (because the 80s = high school for us). I was actually sore the next morning. And then exhausted for the rest of the week. I think I need to go into training if we’re going to do that again (which we are, since Tina wants to celebrate her birthday next month with more dancing).

Because I was out partying until the wee hours, I didn’t read much last weekend. Plus, Drood kinda put me in a pissy mood towards books for a few days. But then! Revival was released on Tuesday and I snapped that baby right up. I’m trying to pace myself (so hard!) and only read about 60 pages each night. All I can say about it so far is that…

SOMETHING HAPPENED.

Nothing scary, though. I’ve realized that reading lots of Stephen King can be dangerous, because not all of his books are scary. But if you have a bit of history with Uncle Stevie, you’ll still be on edge for the entire book waiting for something freaky to happen. Except…it might never happen. So even the non-scary books are anxiety-inducing.

And then there’s the locations he tends to re-use. Our main character in Revival ends up in Nederland, Colorado. Which is not that far from the Overlook Hotel. Not that he mentions the Overlook, but I know my geography (both real and fictional), and that was enough to creep me out. That and the fact that I’ve driven through the Eisenhower Tunnel, which is in the same general vicinity, and which you may (or may not) remember from The Stand.

I’m reading Revival with Ti (and maybe some other people, but Instagram has been pretty quiet when it comes to #ReviveMe2014). And I have to say, by the time I got to a certain scene with Charlie and Jamie and the headphones, I realized that #ReviveMe2014 is pretty much the most appropriate hashtag EVER for a readalong.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Now is the time when we dance (and read, of course)

  1. Oh my gosh, they sound like great friends! I can’t remember the last time I danced like that.

    Like

  2. That sounds like a fantastic weekend! I’d love to do that ragnar thing one day. I’ve heard a lot about it from friends. It would help if I started running again, though. Which won’t happen until we’re back in Texas next summer.

    Like

  3. I’m surprised you all weren’t carded. No way over 21! :–)

    Like

  4. So I just made my way here from Instagram and got caught up on your blog (and why your Instagram name changed, which is what led me here). Wow, what a whirlwind few months it’s been for you! Glad you’re doing well despite what must have been a pretty tumultuous time, and glad you’re blogging more often (and certainly more often than I am!)

    Like

  5. Your weekend sounds absolutely awesome! I love hearing stories about friends staying together over the years. It looks like you had a blast and have an exciting year planned too. I have to say, I’m a little jealous!!

    Like

  6. Beth F

    you look like babies!!!

    Like

  7. litandlife

    I wish I had done a better job keeping up with my high school friends – your weekend sounds fantastic for the soul!

    Like

Leave a Reply

