Final Analysis…

…of my very first readathon as a reader. First, we have the obligatory:

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? None! I started at 5am and went to bed at 10:30, so it felt like a normal (ish) day. And I spent the morning doing normal weekend morning things (a run, some errands) while listening to an audio, so I think that being out and about really helped. By the afternoon, I really was ready to just settle on the couch for the rest of the day.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Sorry, no. I need to plan ahead on this one for next time.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope! I trust Andi and Heather, because they have All. The. Ideas. Seriously ladies…thank you for doing this!!
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I didn’t really get involved in the community aspect much, so I can’t say.
  5. How many books did you read? I finished five (note: I didn’t start all 5 yesterday), plus two chapters of a sixth.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? World War Z, Carrie, Brave Companions, The Angel of Losses, On This Day, and two chapters of Drood
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? None of them knocked my socks off. I did like World War Z, but yesterday was the last 100 or so pages, and I was getting ready for it to be over.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? See above. None of them were bad, either. I just felt kind of meh about my choices.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I haven’t cheered in years, so no can do. Except I have to say…900 plus participants?!? Holy crap, they deserve medals.
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? If the day works, I’ll be there! And I don’t know…Trish asked me last night which I prefer, reading or cheerleading, and this was my response: “I like the cheering for the community. And the energy. And the reading for, well, the reading. Equally fun, but different moods/experiences.”

photo (5)

And here are my personal stats:

one last minute decision to participate (really…I signed up at 10pm the night before)

17.5 hours of participation (including naps and breaks)

832 pages read, 139 of them non-fiction

3 hours, 10 minutes of listening

3 books finished, 2 more started and finished, and some more progress made in Drood

3 regular meals, plus muddy buddies and an evening run to Trader Joe’s for taquitos and peanut butter cups

1 giant mug of coffee at home, 1 venti latte from Starbucks, and about half of a diet Dr. Pepper

lots of water

1 nap

and no readathon hangover

Hooray!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Final Analysis…

  1. Holy cow, you rocked it!

    Like

  2. litandlife

    Say, I kind of like the idea of putting together a pile of books that I’ve already started so I can feel like I accomplished something. I’m going to at least have to add a couple of them to my next readathon pile.

    Like

  3. The cheering is hard with 900 participants. Plus it seems like half of the people are only on twitter. It certainly is a different experience now than it was!! I’m out next spring as it’s the chickpea’s fourth birthday (how the HELL did that happen?! (her being 4, not the double scheduling)). 17.5 hours is pretty dang awesome! Glad you had fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

