The Supernatural Enhancements

This book was so cool, even if I had no clue what was going on. I still don’t, for the most part. Oh, I understand the whole concept, but there were chunks that just sailed right over my head. But, the fun thing about this book is that it really doesn”t matter!

Supernatural Enhancements

The basic story is that A. (yes, that’s all we get of his name) and his sidekick, a mute Irish girl (she’s under 20, therefore she is a girl) Niamh arrive in remote Virginia from some unspecified place in Europe to take up residence in an old house that A. recently inherited from a long-lost relative.

Strange shit ensues.

There is a ghost, and cyphers, and break-ins, and bloodshot eyes, and a Big Mystery about what happened to the long-lost relative (well, the fact that he jumped out of a window isn’t a mystery…the why is the mystery). And then there’s the deal with the missing butler, and hidden notes, and strange people who seem to want things.

It sounds like a hot mess, but that’s just me describing it. Yes, it’s confusing, but it all has a purpose, and more importantly, this book has atmosphere…I had that low-level dread thing going the whole way through. You know what I’m talking about, right? That slight sense of anxiety that something bad is going to happen but you just. don’t. know. when. And you can’t stop reading because you both do and don’t want it to happen.

This a great fall read (well, for those of you experiencing fall…we’re still waiting for someone to turn the furnace off out here in California). For me, it was my final R.I.P. IX read. What a way to finish up!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Supernatural Enhancements

  1. I’m beginning to think that there’s not a single person on the planet that’s read this and not been in love. And yet for some reason I’ve never stopped to actually write in on my wish list. ‘Til now. I adore low-level dread, but honestly for some reason I think you had me at “strange people who seem to want things.” 🙂

    Like

  2. Beth F

    Wondering if it’d be too spooky for me.

    Like

  3. I love the cover of this book and that alone is reason enough for me to want to read this book. I love the sound of it.

    Like

  4. I just finished this last night and I’m still not entirely sure what’s going but I’m totally ok with that because it was awesome and I need him to write more books right now. And yes, that’s a ridiculous run on sentence but that’s how my thoughts are coping with that book right now. Also, I’m glad I found you again :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

