Bossypants

Or, as I prefer to call it, Disappointingpants.

bossypants

You see, last year I read How to Be A Woman, by Caitlin Moran. And it was awesome. Actually, I listened to the audio, narrated by Ms. Moran herself, and there were times when I was laughing out loud while driving and I’m sure other drivers thought I was crazy (did I ever tell you about the time the woman in the car behind me was singing AND playing air guitar (and she was both belting it out and playing the shit out of that non-existent guitar) while she was driving? I noticed her at the stop light, and then it was all I could do to keep my eyes on the road when the light turned green, because she was still going at it).

Sorry, major digression there. You’d think I was trying to avoid talking about this book or something. I brought up Moran’s book because some people said that if I liked that I should try Bossypants. And it’s a good thing I’ve forgotten who those people were.

Let me start (okay, by now it’s more like middle, but whatever) by saying that I have never watched 30 Rock, nor have I seen a movie with Tina Fey in it. I have seen a few of her Sarah Palin sketches from SNL (and I thought she did a wicked Palin), but that’s the totality of my Fey experience. And I should’ve left it at that, because I did not find this book funny at all. It felt like a bunch of random crap interspersed with even more random (unfunny) one-liners. It was like someone said, hey, you’re famous, you should write a book, and she said, but nothing has really happened in my life, AND THEY DID NOT LISTEN WHEN THEY SHOULD HAVE.

Ahem, sorry…shouty-times over.

I almost stopped half-way through, and I know, I know…I should have listened to myself. But I really wanted to start the month off with a finished book, since I know Drood (aka the doorstop) won’t be over any time soon. And Don Quixote is laughing at me from the drawer of the nightstand. So woo-hoo, I’ve read a book in October (two actually, since I’ve also finished the not quite as disappointing but still a bit disappointing audio of Landline). Can’t you just feel the excitement?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Bossypants

  1. Beth F

    Interesting. I *have* seen Tina Fey in movies, saw a few Palin sketches, have never seen 30 Rock … and I’ve been hesitant to read this for reason unknown (gut instinct). BUT Mr. BFR, with same Fey experience, read the book and loved it and has pestered me for years (year?) to read it too. I’m not sure why I keep putting it off. Now I’ll just hide the book at the back of the shelves and hope he shuts up about it.

    Like

  2. I actually liked this a lot, but I watched Tina Fey all throughout her SNL career and watched several seasons of 30 Rock. I find her humor dry but very much to my taste. I can totally see how, if you’re not familiar with her, this wouldn’t work for you at all.

    Like

  3. I am a huge Tina Fey fan and I don’t remember how far I got into this book but I gave up early enough to pretend it never happened. When I think of Tina Fey I want to think about the enjoyable times of Mean Girls and Palin so I like to imagine this book doesn’t exist. I’m sorry you suffered through it but I hope it doesn’t ruin your future with Fey if you ever are inclined to have one.

    Like

  4. I found this one funny but mostly at the beginning and less so much at the end. I love 30Rock but haven’t seen the SNL sketches (I know, weird, huh?).

    No one puts Don Quixote in a drawer!

    Like

  5. I’m the same as Beth F — something makes me circle Bossypants in a wary fashion. I think part of the problem is when I failed to get the audiobook version downloaded successfully, I went a little sour inside and Tina Fey got the brunt of that.
    Speaking of Landline and disappointment: Yeah, I’ve got to carry that weight.

    Like

  6. litandlife

    Well, now I don’t feel so bad about not getting to this one … or not watching 30 Rock. Of course, that had nothing to do with Fey and everything to do with me teaching tv a lesson because when 30 Rock started was also when Studio 60 On The Sunset Strip also started. You say you’ve never heard of it? Yeah well that’s because apparently there was only room for one comedy on tv with a number in the title at the time and 30 Rock won. So I’m still pretty pissed at Fey. Sorry for the rant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

