Fall of 2014 Reading List

Since my Summer of 2014 Reading List was such a success (I read all but one book!), I thought I’d tempt fate and come up with a Fall of 2014 Reading List (despite the fact that it still feels like summer). Can I pull this off two seasons in a row? Place your bets.

The List

  • Drood, Dan Simmons – Because #droodalong.
  • Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes – Because I’ve started, and I’d like to say I’ve finished.
  • Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel – Because my friend Judith lent me this book (along with the one below) and I’d like to return them before she brings me more, which I have a sneaking suspicion will be the next time we have lunch, because that’s what we do – books and lunch.
  • The Hare with the Amber Eyes, Edmund de Waal – Because see above.
  • Brave Companions, David McCullough – Because I have too many McCullough’s on the shelf. And it’s relatively short, compared to most everything else on this list.
  • Children of God, Mary Doria Russell – Because after The Sparrow I’m expecting disappointment and I want to get that over with. Yet I still want to read it. I know, I’m weird.
  • On This Day, Nathaniel Bellows – Because I walked over to the fiction shelves and randomly grabbed a book.
  • Washington – Because it’s my summer leftover.
  • Pet Sematary – Because every list needs a King.
  • State by State – Just because.
  • Bossypants, Tina Fey – Because I just read it. And okay, maybe that’s cheating, but good lord, this is list is looking like homework (except for Pet Sematary, which I’m almost afraid to read) and I’d like to know I finished at least one book.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fall of 2014 Reading List

  1. Droooooooooooood. I’m currently reading Night Film and Heart-Shaped Box. I need to put one of them down to pick up Drood but I’m procrastinating. And I would totally add the book you’ve already read to the list. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

