The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

yes, indeedy, that's a Winner of the Pulitzer Prize sticker right there on the cover

yes, indeedy, that’s a Winner of the Pulitzer Prize sticker right there on the cover

Hmmm, what to say? It wasn’t bad. But I’m still not seeing why everyone thinks Chabon is such a Big Deal. I must’ve been halfway through before I really noticed the Pulitzer Prize Winner! blurb on the front. And I actually googled it to see if they were really talking about this book. True story. Evidently, I have trust issues, because even though I now know that the book did indeed win the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2001, I still have my doubts.

I think my main struggle with the book was that it was long. Over 600 pages of long. (And yes, I am fully aware that I just said that…the person who is trying to read all 940 pages of Don Quixote. Not that I’m counting.) Also, the characters. They kinda annoyed me. I liked ’em at first, but the more I read, the more ambivalent I started to feel about them. If the book was any longer, I might’ve headed into dislike, but luckily for everyone involved, we didn’t have to go there.

And then there’s the whole deal with comic books. Sure, I read comics when I was a kid. But I was more the Archie and Richie Rich kind of reader…not so much a Superman and Purple Hornet (or whatever color/insect he was) kid. For god’s sake, I had Mighty Mouse sheets…that should tell you something.

That something being that a Mighty Mouse fan doesn’t necessarily grow up to be a Kavalier and Clay fan.

But…the good news is that this had been sitting on my shelves for a very long time (9 years and 4 months, to be exact) and now it’s sitting on Care’s shelves (ha!). Thanks to The Estella Project, I am done and it is gone.

And okay, I know that I’m making this sound worse than it actually was. And that there are many of you who actually love this book. (I hope we can still be friends?) All I’m saying is that for me, 1) it didn’t live up to the hype and 2) I found it marginally boring.

Go ahead, launch the tomatoes.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

  1. I’ve become very impatient with books that are too long and I don’t do well with award winners so this probably isn’t for me.

    Like

  2. Beth F

    I don’t know why but I have never, ever been drawn to Chabon. I guess I should give him a try … maybe a different book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

