To Kill a Mockingbird

tkam quote2

Yeah, yeah…like most of us, I read it in high school.

tkam 1

the cover of the one I read in high school

And I watched the movie COUNTLESS times as a substitute teacher. And,  you know, it was SUCH a hardship watching Gregory Peck over and over and over again. (Except let’s all pause for a moment and feel for the poor subs who have to watch the same movie that isn’t TKaM 5 times in the course of one day…because yes, that is the fate of subs.)

gpeck

hubba hubba

And then I re-read the book in 2010 (holy crap! four years ago?!?). (<—Also, note to Care…you can still link to Ye Olde Blogge.)

tkam 2

the cover of the re-read

And then I read/listened to In True Blood and Breakfast at Tiffany’s, which is sort of irrelevant, except not really, because, well…Dill.

hello, Truman

hello, Truman

And then…I discovered that there was going to be an audio version read by Sissy Spacek and I stalked Audible until it was released and then I bought it and ate it up.

tkam 3

this is the cover I really love…don’t ask me why

And now I’m sad because it’s over. And I guess I could re-read the book, except I got rid of my copy and I’m on a I have no room for more books ban, and I could go to the library but I don’t feel like it, and anyways…I’m not much of a re-reader, except, apparently, when it’s the audio version.

tkam quote

All this to say…the audio version (at least the Sissy Spacek audio version) of To Kill a Mockingbird is fan-freakin’-tastic. Sissy is Scout. Really…she nailed it. And all the prior history I have with this book just made the audio even more enjoyable, because there was Gregory Peck as Atticus, and mini-Truman as Dill, complete with a bow tie. And now I get to add Sissy Spacek’s voice to the TKaM compendium that is floating around in my mind.

This was my third and final read for The Estella Project, Season 2. (And yeah, I still have to write a post on Book the Second, aka The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. Book the First was The Sparrow, and it’s post is still hanging out over at my in-between blog.)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “To Kill a Mockingbird

  1. I remember really enjoying this one in high school, and I’ve been meaning to re-read it one of these days. I may have to see if I can find the audio version with Sissy Spacek though. That may be just the perfect fit that I need for this re-read!

    Like

  2. I read this in middle school but barely remember it. It’s one of those books i know I must revisit in adulthood…but haven’t yet. Maybe the audio version will motivate me?

    Like

  3. Beth F

    I haven’t yet listened to the Spacek audio. I know, I know . . . but there are soooooooooooo many books to read, I rarely reread after about 3 times.

    Like

  4. I can just imagine how great that audio is!

    Like

  5. I fixed the link, so YEP. Thanks. And I listened to Sissy read this as a substitute teacher!! Never got to watch Gregory Peck though, I mean, as a sub.

    Like

Leave a Reply

