Starting over

Two and a half weeks ago I received some surprising news. News that brought about a quick end to my 22 (twenty-two!!) year relationship with that guy who gave me the nickname most of you know me by…softdrink, aka fizzybeverage. It ended up being a whirlwind two weeks, since I found a new place to live much quicker than expected, and suddenly I was moved, unpacked and settled exactly two weeks to the day that it all ended. This was a good thing, since I ended up focusing all of my attention on creating a new home, one for just me, with just my personality. No time to dwell on the bad stuff, and that has pretty much become my mantra (well, if had a mantra and was the dwelling type…turns out I’m a let’s just move on type. Who knew.)

Since the relationship is over (and trust me on this, it is OVER), I’ve decided the name is over, too. Hence the new email, social media profiles, blog, etc. If you haven’t caught on, I am now jill_lora on Instagram, and jilllora on WWF. And if I happen to visit your blog, I should show up as jillora there, too. I have mostly managed to shed the old name, although there are a few places it lingers (damn you, Apple, for not letting me change the name of the home folder on my macbook!).

So here I am. Reinventing myself as jilllora (how unoriginal, but hey, it’s all mine). I have a cozy new apartment that I absolutely love, and it is filled with All. The. Books. Well, almost all…I got rid of a couple of shelves worth. And it’s a good thing most of them are unread, since I have put myself on a budget.

And now I have a new blog, too. Apologies for the blog hopping of late. Most of you know I once blogged at Fizzy Thoughts, and that site still exists as myfizzythought.wordpress.com. A few of you also know that I was at dopeinapoke.wordpress.com briefly (a dope in a poke is a soda in a paper bag…my attempt at blogging undercover). Some of those dope posts will be republished here and then I’ll shut that one down, but I’ll leave the fizzythoughts blog up, because good lord, that’s way too much blogging to just delete!

So there ya go…welcome to my new blog, my new life. Now I just need to get myself back in a reading groove so I have something to chat about!

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Starting over

  1. What a mess Jill! Sorry to hear that, but I’m thrilled to hear you’ve been able to get back on your feet so quickly! I hope this is a wonderful new start for you 🙂 you deserve the absolute best!!! *hugs*

    Like

  2. What a mess! Sorry to hear about that Jill but glad you landed back on your feet so quickly! Hope this is a wonderful new start for you 🙂 you deserve the best!! *hugs*

    Like

  3. “… turns out I’m a let’s just move on type.” You = Awesome. And Darlin’, who cares if your new handle is unoriginal–you are an original through and through!
    And your new digs here–very pretty!

    Like

  4. Beth F

    Wow. Both sorry and happy. Sorry for what you’ve been thru (whatever it was) and happy to see your strength and positive attitude. And happy to see you here.

    Like

  5. Hugs, hugs, and more hugs! I’m sorry to hear about the break up but I’m glad you’re bouncing back so well.

    Like

  6. kristinapatton

    Glad to see you back in the saddle! And I have to say, I love the name Jill Lora 🙂

    Like

  7. Like everyone else, I’m happy to see you blogging again and sad to hear you’ve been going through all this! I also know how you feel re: bloghopping. I do sometimes wish I’d not deleted my old blog, just for the content. I moved all the content elsewhere, but I’ve never gotten my feet grounded in blogging since I moved away from the zen leaf.

    Like

  8. Sorry for all the turmoil in your life, but very happy to see you back. Here’s to new beginnings! 🙂

    Like

  9. Sad for the circumstances, but happy for new beginnings. Hugs to you.

    Like

  10. Here’s to new beginnings even if they happened under less than ideal circumstances. You will rock this new phase of your life! It’s good to see you back!

    Like

  11. I was perturbed and sad to hear your news (perturbed for you!), but I’m glad you’re a “just move on” kind of person, and you seem to be keeping busy and making great strides. ❤ you lots, and I'm selfishly super glad that you're blogging on the radar again.

    Like

  12. Aw heck, what everyone else said. I’m just glad you’re here.

    Like

  13. Ok, I have been in vacay land, I guess. I just wrote you a letter that you can just disregard cuz it is like you channeled those thoughts of mine into this post but that is odd cuz you wrote this before I wrote the letter. Anyway….

    Like

  14. I’m way late to this but I agree with what everyone said! So sorry to hear about your breakup but your attitude is very inspiring! Welcome back to blogging. 🙂

    Like

  15. Huggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggs. So, let’s have a King readalong to celebrate. 🙂

    Like

  16. Oh Jill, I’m just seeing this. I’m so sorry, breakups are so tough (& 22 years is a lot of time and effort). Good for you for grabbing this as an opportunity to do exactly whatever you want with this new part of your life. I love the new handle – it’s perfect, true, simple, and (like you said) all yours! Sending a giant hug to you up
    There in SLO.

    Like

  17. litandlife

    Sorry you had to go through that but glad to welcome you back to non-undercover blogging!

    Like

  18. Ti

    I never saw this post, hence my not knowing the rules about using the other name. I’m sorry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

